Split, Merge, and Transfer Saved Sales

Learn how to split one saved sale into several sales, merge multiple saved sales together into one, and transfer ownership of saved sales from one employee to another.

Not sure how to save a sale? Visit our Saved Sales article for help.

Table of Contents

Saved Sales Screen

Visit the Saved Sales screen to view, manage, split, merge, or transfer saved sales. By default, saved sales do not sync from one register to another register unless Saved Sales Sync or Serverless Sync™ is enabled.

  1. In the ShopKeep Register app, tap 'Saved Sales' on the Main Menu (iOS) or register menu (Android).
    iOS ShopKeep Register App              

    Click to Enlarge
    Android ShopKeep Register App

    Click to Enlarge

  2. Filter the Saved Sales screen by employee and/or sale type.
    • If using the iOS ShopKeep Register app, select filter options from the bottom of the screen.
      Click to Enlarge

      All / Mine | Display sales saved by all employees, or only sales saved by the employee who is signed in.
      All / Online Orders Only | Display all saved sales and ShopKeep eCommerce online orders, or only ShopKeep eCommerce online orders.

    • If using the Android ShopKeep Register app, select filter options from the drop-downs.
      Click to Enlarge

      All Staff / Me / Employee / External Source | Display sales saved by all employees, only sales saved by the employee who is signed in, only sales saved by a specific employee, or only sales coming from an external source (e.g. ShopKeep eCommerce online orders).
      All / In person / Online | Display all saved sales and ShopKeep eCommerce online orders, only sales saved in person at the register, or only ShopKeep eCommerce online orders.

  3. (Optional) Select a view option from the bottom of the screen (iOS) or from the drop-down (Android) to sort saved sales in ascending or descending order.
    iOS ShopKeep Register App              

    Click to Enlarge
    Android ShopKeep Register App

    Click to Enlarge

    Time Elapsed | Order sales by when they were initially saved or received via Online Ordering.
    Sale Name | Order saved sales alphabetically by name. Online orders begin with and are sorted by the letter ‘O’.
    Order Number | Order saved sales by order number, found in the lower right corner.

  4. Follow the steps in the sections below to split, merge, and/or transfer saved sales.

    For help modifying or closing saved sales, visit our Saved Sales article.

Split Saved Sales

Splitting a saved sale allows the cashier to separate its items into multiple new saved sales that can be independently modified or closed.

To learn how to split payment for a single sale between multiple tenders, such as cash and credit, visit our Split Tender Transactions article.

  1. On the Saved Sales screen, tap 'Select' (iOS) or 'Manage Sales' (Android).
    iOS ShopKeep Register App              

    Click to Enlarge
    Android ShopKeep Register App

    Click to Enlarge

  2. Select a saved sale to split.
    • Managers can split saved sales owned by any employee, but cashiers can only split their own sales.
    • In the iOS ShopKeep Register app, the new split saved sale(s) created will be assigned to the employee who performed the split. In the Android ShopKeep Register app, the new saved sale(s) will be assigned to the employee who owned the original sale.
    Online orders cannot be split at the register and must be processed as placed.
    Click to Enlarge
  3. Tap 'Actions' and select 'Split' (iOS), or tap 'Split' (Android).
    iOS ShopKeep Register App              

    Click to Enlarge
    Android ShopKeep Register App

    Click to Enlarge

  4. Tap items on the original saved sale to move them to the new split sale.
    Click to Enlarge
  5. (Optional) Tap the '+' to add additional split sales, then repeat step 4 as needed to add items to each.

    Swipe between split sales to toggle which is selected. To remove the selected split sale, tap ‘Discard’ (iOS) or the trash can icon (Android).

    Click to Enlarge
  6. Select 'Done' (iOS) or the disk icon (Android) to complete the split.

    Tagged customers, transaction-level discounts, and tax removal will persist on the original saved sale but must be reapplied to split saved sales after splitting.

    Click to Enlarge

    Split saved sales have the same name as the original sale but with a number added to the end. Need to rename the split saved sale? Visit our Saved Sales article for help.

    Click to Enlarge

Merge Saved Sales

Merging combines the items and guest count from multiple saved sales into a single saved sale.

  1. On the Saved Sales screen, tap 'Select' (iOS) or 'Manage Sales' (Android).
    iOS ShopKeep Register App              

    Click to Enlarge
    Android ShopKeep Register App

    Click to Enlarge

  2. If using the Android ShopKeep Register app, follow the steps here to transfer all saved sales being merged to the same employee.
  3. Select two or more saved sales to merge.
    • Managers can merge saved sales owned by any employee, but cashiers can only merge their own.
    • In the iOS ShopKeep Register app, the new merged saved sale will be assigned to the employee who performed the merge. In the Android ShopKeep Register app, the merged saved sale will be assigned to the employee who owned the original sales.
    Online orders cannot be merged at the register and must be processed as placed.
    Click to Enlarge
  4. Tap 'Actions' and select 'Merge' (iOS), or tap 'Merge' (Android).
    iOS ShopKeep Register App              

    Click to Enlarge
    Android ShopKeep Register App

    Click to Enlarge

  5. (Optional) Enter a new name for the merged saved sale.

    The sale name will default to ‘Merged’ and will include the current time.

  6. Tap 'Save' (iOS) or the disk icon (Android) to complete the merge.

    Tagged customers, transaction-level discounts, and tax removal do not transfer from individual saved sales to the new merged sale and must be reapplied after merging.

    iOS ShopKeep Register App              

    Click to Enlarge
    Android ShopKeep Register App

    Click to Enlarge

Transfer Saved Sales

Transfer a saved sale to change the employee who has ownership of it.

  1. On the Saved Sales screen, tap 'Select' (iOS) or 'Manage Sales' (Android).
    iOS ShopKeep Register App              

    Click to Enlarge
    Android ShopKeep Register App

    Click to Enlarge

  2. Select one or more saved sales to transfer.

    Managers can transfer saved sales belonging to any employee, but cashiers can only transfer their own saved sales.

    Click to Enlarge
  3. Tap ‘Actions’ and select ‘Transfer to’ (iOS), or tap 'Transfer' (Android).
    iOS ShopKeep Register App              

    Click to Enlarge
    Android ShopKeep Register App

    Click to Enlarge

  4. Select an employee to receive the saved sale.
  5. If using the Android ShopKeep Register app, tap ‘Transfer’ to confirm the selected employee.
    Click to Enlarge
  6. Enter the receiving employee’s register code, then tap ‘Verify’ (iOS) or 'Approve' (Android).
    Click to Enlarge

    The saved sale is now assigned to the receiving employee.

    Click to Enlarge

FAQ & Troubleshooting

After learning how to split, merge, and transfer saved sales, visit these additional resources if you have questions or need help.

ShopKeep Register FAQ | Visit this page for help with general questions about using the register, including saved sales.

Advanced Topics FAQ | This article answers common questions about Saved Sales Sync and Serverless Sync™, optional features that sync saved sales between registers.

Saved Sales Troubleshooting Guide | Having trouble with saved sales? Follow the steps in this guide for help fixing the issue.